Home PEx Campus High Schools

Should I stay or should I switch?

Hi

I'm a Grade 11 student. I'm currently in my first week at Aquinas University of Legazpi. I'm now thinking of going back to my former school, Sorsogon National High School.

At first, there were three choices for me for senior high: UST, AUL, and SNHS.

Initially, I never considered going to Manila until my girlfriend came along. Being a second-generation Thomasian (her dad graduated in UST and her sister studies there), it was only fitting of her to choose UST to study senior high. She was also well-off as her family owned a business. She never forced me to follow her, but it was my own choice to take an interest in UST. Eventually, I fell in love with the campus when I visited (last visit was when I was a kid, getting treatment for a disease. As I said, never really cared about the school before). I loved the campus and it's rich history.

Eventually, I ended up taking the USTET and I got ranked really high (upper 2%) of the STEM class. She took the Health Allied strand and also passed. Everything was smooth sailing, until one day, when I was about to pass the requirements needed for enrollment, my father changed his mind. He said that if I was to go and study in Manila, he wouldn't contribute any money for my endeavor and that my mother would be responsible if anything bad happens to me. It was okay for my mom, but my dad, thinking that his threats would work, got really serious and said no, much to me and my mom's dismay. I come from a middle-class family (dad's an electrical engineer and my mom's an officer at a bank) and my parents can afford to send me to UST, it's just that my dad is an EXTREMELY overprotective person (call him paranoid, very very paranoid) and he doesn't treat me as a teenager with a mind of my own, that's why he didn't like the idea of me going far away.