Home PEx Sports PBA

Is a Non-Call in the Last 2 Mins Really "Reviewable"?

KirhatKirhat PEx Veteran ⭐⭐
In the light of the decision to review a non-call offensive goaltending against Phoenix in their game against RoS, the question is: is there really a rule to review it? I'm not familiar with the PBA regulations, but if there is such a thing mentioned somewhere in one of the provisions, why not review the travelling non-call on Tenorio against Phoenix or the 5 second rule violation against GlobalPort before?

Comments

  • KirhatKirhat PEx Veteran ⭐⭐
    PBA defends goaltending call, says non-calls 'reviewable' in last two minutes during deadballs
    From: Karlo Sacamos
    April 1, 2016, 08:22 pm


    THE PBA stood by its referees' decision to call a late offensive goaltending violation on Phoenix import Kevinn Pinkney that proved crucial in a 104-109 loss to Rain or Shine in a Commissioner’s game on Friday.

    Referees waived off the Fuel Masters import's basket with 17.9 seconds left that should've put Phoenix up, 106-105, after a video review established inkney touch the net on his second jump.

    Eyebrows, however, were raised as the officials acted solely on a complaint by the Elasto Painters even if there was no call made by the referees in the first place.

    But deputy commissioner Rickie Santos explained the non-call was reviewable as it happened within the last two minutes of the game.

    “Pwede i-review ng referees 'yun,” Santo said in a short chat with SPIN.ph after the game. “Nag-time out rin naman ang Rain or Shine.”

    The E-Painters kept the lead at 105-104 owing to the call and held on for a 109-104 victory.


    Read more at http://www.spin.ph/basketball/pba/news/pba-stands-by-controversial-goaltending-call-as-non-calls-reviewable-within-last-two-minutes-explains-deputy-commissioner#I3BZVfh5yUpg8vEk.99
  • BoyingBoying Member PEx Icon 🎖️🎖️🎖️
    pwede i review ...pero hindi pwede baguhin ang nagyari kung walang " whistle" or non call ang mga referee doon sa situation


    nangyari na ito dati clearly may violation ..pero wala tawag ang ref kahit nireview may nakitang violation ...

    pero hindi na binago ang nangyari .**** pa under last two minutes din
  • tiyo_panchotiyo_pancho Member PEx Guru 🎖️🎖️
    Natapat kasi na nag-TO ang ROS e, kaya ayun, nireview, at nakita yung violation at ni-nullify yung score. Pero kung walang TO, at may violation, tuloy din pala yun?
  • Zep_TepiZep_Tepi PEx Influencer ⭐⭐⭐
    Here is the rule:

    5. REVIEW OF GOAL TENDING VIOLATION IN THE LAST 2 MINUTES — Any goal tending violation called in the last two (2) minutes of the fourth quarter and overtime period(s) shall be subject to automatic video review.

    When a foul is called on a shot and a player touches the ball, basket or backboard and there is a chance to score, even if the referees do not call a goal tending violation, it shall likewise be subject to automatic review if it occurred in the last two (2) minutes of the fourth quarter and overtime period(s).

    http://pba.inquirer.net/61017/pba-commissioners-office-releases-rule-changes-for-pba-season-41

    --

    My understanding is that the referees can only review a goal tending if a foul or violation is called. There was none, so it should have been let go.
  • tiyo_panchotiyo_pancho Member PEx Guru 🎖️🎖️
    Zep_Tepi wrote: »
    Here is the rule:

    5. REVIEW OF GOAL TENDING VIOLATION IN THE LAST 2 MINUTES — Any goal tending violation called in the last two (2) minutes of the fourth quarter and overtime period(s) shall be subject to automatic video review.

    When a foul is called on a shot and a player touches the ball, basket or backboard and there is a chance to score, even if the referees do not call a goal tending violation, it shall likewise be subject to automatic review if it occurred in the last two (2) minutes of the fourth quarter and overtime period(s).

    http://pba.inquirer.net/61017/pba-commissioners-office-releases-rule-changes-for-pba-season-41

    --

    My understanding is that the referees can only review a goal tending if a foul or violation is called. There was none, so it should have been let go.

    Yun ata yung pino-point out nila Koi last night. Walang pito. Ibig sabihin, walang violation. Nataon lang na nag-TO ang ROS at nagreklamo ROS kaya ni-review yung play, at dun nga nakita yung sabit ng kamay ni pinkney sa net, & somehow nakatulong dun sa pagpasok ng bola sa ring.

    Mukhang ang mga refs sa PBA ay hindi well versed sa mga rules. :bash:
  • ironcoachironcoach game-changer PEx Guru 🎖️🎖️
    Yun ata yung pino-point out nila Koi last night. Walang pito. Ibig sabihin, walang violation. Nataon lang na nag-TO ang ROS at nagreklamo ROS kaya ni-review yung play, at dun nga nakita yung sabit ng kamay ni pinkney sa net, & somehow nakatulong dun sa pagpasok ng bola sa ring.

    Mukhang ang mga refs sa PBA ay hindi well versed sa mga rules. :bash:

    sana meron dito sa PEx na maka-communicate o maka-reach out dun sa nba review center sa new jersey para makuha yung interpretasyon nila dun sa tawag kagabi.

    are you up to it, sir jpm? pa-bilibin mo nga kami ditong mga fans mo. 
  • real13fast13real13fast13 PEx Influencer ⭐⭐⭐
    just take what narvasa said nung ginebra-global qf match there was a non-call, ano irereview mo. malinaw na yan, yung alleged travelling ni tenorio hindi man lang nila nireview nung ginebra vs phoenix nag timeout din naman ang phoenix nun,
  • ylle45ylle45 Member PEx Icon 🎖️🎖️🎖️
    PBA= consistency off:lol:

    eh di sana pala tinawagan niyo din si Pringle noong Phil.cup:lol:
  • BoyingBoying Member PEx Icon 🎖️🎖️🎖️
    just take what narvasa said nung ginebra-global qf match there was a non-call, ano irereview mo. malinaw na yan, yung alleged travelling ni tenorio hindi man lang nila nireview nung ginebra vs phoenix nag timeout din naman ang phoenix nun,
    ayun nadale mo brod ...
  • aseroasero PEx Influencer ⭐⭐⭐
  • KirhatKirhat PEx Veteran ⭐⭐
    Ironically, Phoenix was a victim of both the non-call and the call. When Tenorio traveled, there was a timeout, Phoenix complained, but no review and call were made. When Pinkney touched the net, there was a timeout, RoS complained, a review and a call were made. tsk tsk
  • Jay P. MercadoJay P. Mercado Moderator PEx Moderator
    I think the rules are very clear on this one: that only a call made can be questioned. Rickie Santos is very wrong when he said that the officials made the right decision of calling a goal-tending violation as this happened in the last two minutes of the game. What he conveniently forgot to mention that there should have been a goal-tending violation CALLED by the referees for this to be subject for review. Had the rule specifically mentioned "any goal tending violation called or non-called" then the refs would have acted correctly.

    There is a specific purpose as to why only those calls made by the referees are subject for review and not those which were not called. It is because if every call or non-call will be reviewed in the last two minutes, then we will have the longest two minutes ever. That is why only those that were called are subject for review. And in this case, without any call, there shouldn't have been any review, thereby allowing Phoenix to take the lead of the game in the last 17 seconds.

    In fairness though, Coach Yeng Guiao, the recipient of this bum call, made it clear that they only got the breaks of the game with that bum call. Short of saying that the refs erred bigtime in this play, but they were fortunate enough this time around to get the lucky end of the call.

    Was the right call made? No. Was the rule correct. Yes. Was Santos' interpretation of the rule correct? No.
  • KirhatKirhat PEx Veteran ⭐⭐
    Was the right call made? No. Was the rule correct. Yes. Was Santos' interpretation of the rule correct? No.

    This is fast becoming the trademark of the PBA. I'm not sure anymore if there was even an effort to really improve the officiating.
  • lawgonelawgone PEx Influencer ⭐⭐⭐
    Phoenix should've filed a protest to attest this wrong call. But it seems that they have already accepted their fate. :(
  • IronManofSteelIronManofSteel Manok ng Bayan Sexy Dancers PEx Expert 🎖️
    Kawawang Phoenix Petroleum Jelly.
Sign In or Register to comment.