FEATURE ADJUSTMENT: The Flag button is temporarily unavailable for members. We are doing certain system adjustments as of the moment to prevent some users from abusing this feature. For reports, please message the moderators or email us at [email protected]
PEx Alert: Welcome to the new PinoyExchange. For access issues, bug reports and technical concerns, please email us at [email protected] Thank you!

Two Master's degree?

Hello, I graduated in UP with a degree in Mathematics and I wanted to focus my career in the finance industry. Anyway, I plan to take a Master's degree in Financial Engineering in NTU (Nanyang Technological University) located in Singapore. Unfortunately, I didn't do well in my undergrad, around 2.3 lang overall GWA ko. I am assuming that I am going to have a difficulty entering grad school abroad with that profile.

Now, would it be wise if I take an MS degree here in the Philippines then after completion apply for a master's degree abroad? I am also opting for a second degree, but the finances would be difficult.

Comments

• extranjeroextranjero Member ✭✭
    If you look at UK schools on the entry requirement for Filipinos, they do require that we do our masters first. I think this has something to do with our 10 years of basic education (lacking 2 more years).

And thus, getting a masters will help you in applying for an international masters. Work experience is also a big plus. If you are already in the industry for quite sometime, then highlight those in your application.
  • kelunjikelunji Member ✭✭✭
    Hello, I graduated in UP with a degree in Mathematics and I wanted to focus my career in the finance industry. Anyway, I plan to take a Master's degree in Financial Engineering in NTU (Nanyang Technological University) located in Singapore. Unfortunately, I didn't do well in my undergrad, around 2.3 lang overall GWA ko. I am assuming that I am going to have a difficulty entering grad school abroad with that profile.