Alternative Job for Nurses = Clinical Research Industry

Hi fellow nurses! I would like to share my experience as a nurse working in the clinical research industry. I graduated and passed the NLE in 2009. However, due to the limited opportunity to work as a nurse here in the country, I ventured into other related fields like Medical Transcription and now for 1-1/2 years in the Clinical Research Industry. The industry is dominated by Pharmacists since basically the industry is focused in drug research and development and pharmacists seem to be the best fit to the job. But most of the Sponsors/clients prefer nurses as we utilize a holistic approach in our work and we are familiar and knowledgeable of the medical terms and medical procedures. My job includes mainly filing of study documents and submission of safety reports to the Ethics Committee of the sites (hospitals). It is more of a clerical job/desk job rather than patient care. A more important role in the clinical research industry is the Clinical Research Associate where you will have the opportunity to monitor the progress of the clinical trial and overseeing the study at your site.

I think nurses are more qualified to be in this industry than other health care professionals. I hope this can help in lowering the numbers of unemployed nurses here in the country. For more information about the clinical research industry, you can always check it in Google. There are a lot of clinical research organizations operating here in the Philippines namely Quintiles, PPD, Parexel, ClinTech, Icon, among others. You can also try becoming a study coordinator working for the investigators (Physician conducting the research) in different hospitals. It is financially satisfying and gives a lot of opportunities to travel.

Comments

• ee_eeee_ee Member PExer