Home PEx Chat Small Talk

tragic tragic horror story

I would like to seek help because my life has been completely broken, in a horror movie twist but which was the reality of my life. Here is what happened to me. Details of my name I will not provide to protect my parents who are known personalities in our place.
I am a post graduate student in Ateneo de Manila
University. Last December 2010, I was in a
relationship with a working class man who resembled a childhood sweetheart. I contacted Dra.
Jocelyn Gauzon-Gayares, a psychiatrist in Bacolod city, asking for
advice regarding contraceptives. She offered to help me with an
abortion, providing, I went with her to a mental institution,
Metropsyche Cebu, which was in another city. She promised me I was
just to merely have a look and could go out immediately right after,
if I didn't like it there. Seeing that I could just walk away right
there and that, and because she was refusing to help me with an
abortion, unless I went: I caved in, out of fear that I was pregnant,
and fear of my mother's wrath should I be pregnant.

Here is the history, I had been seeing Dra. Gayares following the
deaths of my grandmother and dog, but only for grief counselling. I
clearly told her I did not believe in psychiatry, which even in our
classes in Ateneo, we openly discuss and trace the father of
psychiatry to be a purely racist person who created such diseases as "Negritude" (cure of which was whitening of skin) and "Drapetomania" (an illness labelled for rebellious slaves, cure of which was that
they were to be whipped). Dra. Gayares herself told me that "sanity is merely a conventional frame of mind." I consult her in the series of years only for medical advice, when I have flu, advice for feeding raw food for my dogs, as she can be reached through text. I clearly told her I considered her as a friend not as a psychiatrist and only talked to her about the long-going misunderstanding between me and my mother.