Home PEx Hobbies Recreation

Beginner Guitar: Classic or Acoustic?

I'm going to take guitar lessons, and I'm a beginner. I really want to learn how to play the acoustic guitar, but most people tell me to start with the classic first. What do you think? Can I go directly in learning how to play the acoustic? Or should I start with the classic first? :) And if I start with the classic, and I already know how to play it, will I be able to play the acoustic as well too? thanks!

Comments

• slim_chance79slim_chance79 PEx Veteran ⭐⭐
    Let's define terms here first.

By acoustic you mean a guitar that's not an electric, either nylon-stringed (classical guitar) or the steel stringed variant.

If that's what you mean, then it doesn't matter which one you pick up first. Each has its own pros and cons.

The classical guitar has wider necks. If you have short fingers you'll have a tough time learning. It has thicker strings too. The steel strings might hurt a bit, but the neck is easier to grip. Try to get a feel of both guitars first before making your decision.

I like the warmer sound of the classical guitar, but i like the steel strings for strumming. I learned on the steel stringed guitar though.
  • Let's define terms here first.

By acoustic you mean a guitar that's not an electric, either nylon-stringed (classical guitar) or the steel stringed variant.

If that's what you mean, then it doesn't matter which one you pick up first. Each has its own pros and cons.

The classical guitar has wider necks. If you have short fingers you'll have a tough time learning. It has thicker strings too. The steel strings might hurt a bit, but the neck is easier to grip. Try to get a feel of both guitars first before making your decision.

I like the warmer sound of the classical guitar, but i like the steel strings for strumming. I learned on the steel stringed guitar though.

Well said.

Allow me to add some more ideas here.