Home PEx Business and Careers The Working Filipino
Are you a pageant expert? Join the PEx Miss Universe Quiz Night on May 16!

is it THAT important??

is the T.O.R. really THAT important to ALL companies???
i graduated with a BSEE (electrical engineering) degree.
but the problem is hindi maganda ang transcript ko... i have quite a number of 5's :( (failing grades) :(
what i fear is that i'll be having a REAL HARD TIME getting a job because of it :(
at the moment im taking a review course for preparation for my board exams this coming april... hopefully i'll make it :wonder:
right now i fear what the future has in store for me :(

Comments

• aticusaticus PEx Influencer ⭐⭐⭐
    It's not that important, unless of course the job you're applying to is in-demand. When that happens, companies look for candidates who have differentiated themselves from the pack, and sorry to say but honors students or those with high grades DO have an advantage.

The best thing to do if you suspect your transcript isn't up to snuff is to involve yourself in good, extra-curricular activities. For instance, if you have bad grades, but you're President of the Student Council, and you spearheaded a million-peso fund-raiser for your scholarship fund, you immediately become more attractive. Companies are also looking for people who demonstrate real-world skills that show initiative, competence, organization-skills, etc., etc. Another good way to make yourself more attractive is to get a part-time job with a company in a similar field with your dream company. That way you can say you have relevant work experience.