New School Racket for Tourism/HRM Students

so you think because you're taking up medicine, nursing or engineering that your course is the most the expensive college course? you're dead wrongn.

tourism and hrm students are required to pay for expensive ' learning ' tours ( P 25,000 per semester on top of tuition is a given ) to domestic and foreign destinations such as baguio cebu davao boracay dakak etc hong kong thailand guam etc.

and while the schools and the profs get hefty discounts / commissions for this large group tours year in year out, the students are charged in full, and as students, are also required to work during the tour as guides, cooks, waiters, chambermaids, etc.

i studied in an exclusive school and could say matter of fact that the faculty and students themselves were very particular not to engage in expensive/extravagant school affairs even though most of the students ( their parents ) could afford it.

i was therefore shocked that schools like UST Lyceum and even STI which have tourism/hrm courses require their students to go on these expensive tours as a course requirement. mahiya naman kayong mga school kayo. :bop:

Comments

• ReiiiReiii Member PExer
    Hmm.. i guess pexers who are taking up the program could have a say on this..
  • fattybearyusfattybearyus Registered User PExer
    I don't know why HRM is still popular among hs students.
  • my cousin is taking up BS Tourism major in HRM sa isang province... (hinde ko na lang sasabihin ang name ng school)... she's an upcoming 4th yr this june.. may summer class sya and that requires a tour to Thailand.. which is 42k for the 1st batch via Thai airways (manila-bangkok) and 35k for the 2nd batch via Cebu Pacific (cebu-bangkok)..

my cousin wont be able to graduate next yr if she cant join the tour this summer...isa kasi yun sa requirements eh..

may international tour din ba ang Tourism course sa inyo?

if yes, pls put the amount and the name of the school kun pwede...