Home PEx Lifestyle Body and Fitness

Lifting Weights Vs. Cardio

I Just Want Someone Knowleadgeable To Validate If Lifting Weights Burns Far More Calories Than Cardio.. I Have Read Few Articles Regarding This.. Enlighten Me Anyone..? Thanks..

Comments

• im no expert but i think

cardio = burns calories
    weights = burns calories + builds muscle + increase strength

imo cardio is better suited for women
  • Anong uri ba ng Cardio ang tinutukoy mo?? Aerobic o Anaerobic??
  • Anaerobic exercise tend to burn more calories than aerobic exercise as proven in a japanese study (which incidentally led to tabata protocols or strength interval training strategies). Sources abound on the internet. I suggest searching for yourself twisted logic.
  • To maintain muscle mass and a longer period of elevated metabolism, weight training is definitely better than cardio. As tonyoboy said, its being anaerobic in nature allows for more calorie burning. Peace.
  • thanks guys! all the while i thought that cardio is the sole way to burn calories.. currently, i dont have the luxury of time to do running.. so when i read some articles regarding lifting weights other advantages, nabuhayan ako! hehe! lalo na nung clarified na! salamat!
  • My abs are almost fully visible again after cleaning up my diet and doing only EDT. I'm currently 175lbs at 5'10".

If I did cardio, I'd continue to lose muscle and that would slow my metabolism further and thus I'd gain fat easier and begin an endless cycle like most people.

EDT/strength training only allows me to maintain muscle while using fat as a fuel during training after glycogen stores are exhausted early in the training session. The body releases adrenaline in response to EDT strength training and adrenaline triggers the release of fatty acids (stored bodyfat) as the primary fuel source. This is also why EDT stimulates fat loss to continue long after you've finished the workout.