Home PEx Lifestyle Body and Fitness
Speak your mind, but mind what you post. Let's not spread disinformation and/or misinformation.

how much exercise is too much?

i've been exercising regularly for the past few years, but for the past two months, i've upped my physical activity to everyday, about 45 minutes per day (mostly cardio). however, i notice that lately, i've been feeling a lot more fatigued than usual, and get pretty sore. should i eat more? exercise less? i just want to maintain my present weight.

any advice would be appreciated. :D

Comments

• You should only limit your cardio to 15 min, 4 times a week. Doing cardio everyday for 45 min/day will only weaken your bones and muscles because your body will use your muscle and bone energy first, then your fat energy. With regards to your eating habit, eat foods that are rich in protein such as chix breast,tuna and beef. And make wheat bread and oatmeal as your primary carb source. Try doing cardio (high intensity) for 15 min then train on free weights for about 30-45 min. Limit your workout within 1 hour/ 4 times a week. This will get you the results you never had. Trust me...this will work...
  • thanks for the reply. i definitely feel like i've got weakened bones and muscles now. :)

i don't know if this has any bearing on your original answer, but i'm female -- do those quantities of cardio/free weights still apply?

also, i only eat meat about 4x a week -- what will increasing my protein intake do? can i substitute food like tofu and eggs for meat?
  • I've recently plateaued as a result of over training I exercised 6 times a week from and hour and an hour and a half depending on my work out scheduel.