COMMUNITY NOTICE: If you are having trouble in your account access, please do send us a message at [email protected] for assistance. Please update your email address.

Thanks,
pexer99

career shift

fedorfedor Member PExer
Guys i need your help. I am planning to shift my career from accounting to IT. I am a licensed accountant but the work doesn't really interest me (forgive me fellow CPAs pero IMHO it's actually bean-counting):love: . Masarap lang sya pag-aralan because of the fact that it is one of the hardest board exams (talking about pride) but in the actual practice, i find no fulfillment doing accounting work (coz for me, i don't find value in adding, subtracting numbers....haaayy:( ) . At the same time, i felt that i really wanted to IT because of the value its brings to the world today (i want to be a part of that). Darn, now i want to do something valuable in my 8-5, 5 days a week time. Oops, medyo humahaba na ang post ko, it looks like a blog na. :p

Ok, IT people, i need your help. I have few questions.
1. since this would be my second course, do you of a school that offers only the core subjects (wala ng social sciences, history, religion)...on programming (Java, C++, VB....also SAP and Oracle, crystal reports)?
2. Can you name me your top 3 schools in this field? yung patok sa employers and very competitive ang turo.
3. Where does programming belong? computer science ba o comp engng? for my enrolment purposes.

Yun lang, but any other thoughts and advices would be appreciated*okay* . Please no bashing of IT schools, this is a serious thread. I might have offended some CPAs here in PEX but please understand that this is only an opinion. But this thread may also serve those who wanted a shift not only cpas but to other profession as well. Thanks people!!*okay*

Comments

• dalepatrickdalepatrick Member PExer