Home PEx Campus The Academe

Multiple vs fill in the blank test

Multiple-Choice vs. Essay Type Test'

Thesis Statement: Essay Type test is more effective in evaluating how much a student knows than a Multiple-Choice test.
Topic Sentence: There is a higher chance of just guessing the answer in Multiple-Choice tests than proving an essay.
Topic Sentence: In Multiple-Choice test, it is either right or wrong but essay type test is about how well you answer the question and whether your opinion make sense.
Topic Sentence: Multiple Choice tests have drawbacks; In fact, the question can be misinterpreted or ambiguous.

Please naman. Kunwari kayo yung prosecutors. Criticize my essay naman. please

Comments

• Hello flimmeryrose741, may I know what course this paper is for? As a teacher, I use different types of assessments for different types of reasons. I cannot really say that the essay is better than a multiple choice type of assessment because what is more important in constructing assessments is the test validity - does the test measure what is intended to measure? So I hope this helps you out.
  • Multiple Choice exams for me is a lot more difficult. Lalo na when the last 2 choices are all of the above and none of the above.

there are cases sa engineering na sobrang hirap ng problem, then kapag multiple choice, it's all or nothing, walang partial points for the solutions.
    Problem solving type sa eng'g ang katumbas ng essay type sa ibang colleges eh. It will show you if the student truly understand the topic. Saka sa min, the final answer is not important, its the process on how you get the final answer is the most important thing.

so i prefer talaga essays (or long calculation problem-type of exams).