Home PEx Business and Careers Pinoy Careers

Cash Basis Accounting

edited March 25 in Pinoy Careers
i have basic knowledge on cash basis accounting but i am still confused with some concepts or processes. i've tried to conduct a research but accounting books do not discuss this in detail. so, i would like to seek the help of experts here.

1) i know that revenues are recorded when cash is received. but, how will the company record a transaction when merchandise is sold on credit?
2)when a company borrows money from a bank, it is an inflow of cash, will it be considered a revenue and how will it be recorded?
3)does the company record transaction when cash is involved?
4)how is cash basis accounting converted to accrual and vice-versa?

Comments

• i have basic knowledge on cash basis accounting but i am still confused with some concepts or processes. i've tried to conduct a research but accounting books do not discuss this in detail. so, i would like to seek the help of experts here.

1) i know that revenues are recorded when cash is received. but, how will the company record a transaction when merchandise is sold on credit?
    2)when a company borrows money from a bank, it is an inflow of cash, will it be considered a revenue and how will it be recorded?

some short answers:

1) nothing. cash accounting only records something when there is a cash flow
    2) uhhm, payable?
    3) always when cash accounting is used
    4) rough answer: constructive accounting

:D

oh and, correct me if im wrong :) thx
  • mac_bolan00mac_bolan00 PEx Veteran ⭐⭐
    i'm not an accountant so i can't helpyou with accounting entries. but for managerial accounting and the so-called "two-book" system practiced by our tax-cheating countrymen in binondo, cash-basis simply records actual entry of cash and good-as-cash items such as manager's checks and goods.

take the case of a sari-sari store. your general cash flow for a period will look like this:

cash from sales for the period